Sunday, July 29, 2007

Cisco Tip: disable command

I think it would be fair to say that just about everyone working with Cisco routers and switches is familiar with the enable command; indeed, you can't configure anything without being in privileged mode. But, did you know there is also a disable command? While you may never have a need to use it, it is good to know it exists and what it does.

If you are in enable (privileged) mode on a switch, entering the disable command will put you back in normal mode:

Console> (enable) disable

If you enter the disable command on a router, it will exit you from privileged EXEC mode and return you to user EXEC mode, or to a lower privilege level:

Router# disable

TAKE NOTE: the prompt changes on both the router and switch when you enter and exit enable mode.


Post a Comment

<< Home